Singing The Bones : Winter 2023 4-week Cohort

with Lydia Violet :: Ancestral Reconnection through Myth and Song

  Enroll in Course


Welcome to our Winter 4-week cohort info page

4 Tuesdays : Feb 21 - March 21, 2022, skipping Feb 28th : 4pm PST : 7pm EST

In this live webinar series Iranian-American artist & scholar Lydia Violet willguide you in exploring the cultural inheritance of one of your ancestries through researching myths, folktales, archetypes, musical instrumentation, and song

By the end of this course you will have a deeper understanding of the cosmologies/myths/stories held within your inherited cultural lineage(s), a deeply medicinal endeavor in our time.

You will also be supported in discovering and learning the nature of mythic truth, cosmology, and psyche. You will explore how story gives way to culture, giving way to root traditions and the expanse of the diaspora. You will delve into learning about the instruments and musical styles singing in your blood. You will see the connections and differentiations across cultures. And most importantly, you will practice reconnection within the diaspora, defining what relationship with your ancestors means for you.

You do not need to have musical experience to take this course!



"...The old woman sings over the bones, and as she sings, the bones flesh out. We too 'become' as we pour soul over the bones we have found. As we pour our yearning and our heartbreaks over the bones of what used to be when we were young, of what we used to know in the centuries past, and over the quickening we sense in the future, we stand on all fours, four-square. As we pour soul, we are revivified. We are no longer a thin solution, a dissolving frail thing. No. We are in the 'becoming' stage of transformation." - Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Women Who Run With the Wolves





Please send any additional questions to [email protected]

Students are not able to register part-time; however, each session will be recorded and made available to all registered students. If a student cannot attend a particular class they can still register for the program and watch the missed video at any time.


About Our Teacher




It will truly be a gift to do this work with you! See you soon.

Lydia


Course Curriculum


  Welcome: A Cosmological Introduction: Feb 21, 2023 : 4pm PST/7pm EST
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Archetypal Connections : March 7, 2023 : 5pm PST/8pm EST
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Healing the Healing the Split Through Song: March 14, 2023 : 4pm PST/7pm EST
Available in days
days after you enroll

Frequently Asked Questions


When does the course start and finish?
Our live sessions start January 24th 2022 and ends February 14th 2022. Recordings of sessions will be available indefinitely!
What do I need to take this class?
Either a computer or phone that can connect to Zoom either by internet or direct dialing in. All Zoom info is in our Teachable class portal. That's it!

Get started now!